18 March 2019 - Primavera featuring Ikuko Takahashi, Aya Sakou and Kang Chun Meng | Steinway Gallery Singapore
Select Page



Steinway Gallery Singapore Is proud to present ‘’Primavera’’ which means ”Spring” in Italian, we would like to invite you to this exclusive event showcasing a special limited edition Steinway piano – The Crown Jewel Indian Apple Wood Model O SPIRIO.

This is a recital of music and dance performed by Violinist Ikuko Takahashi, Pianist Aya Sakou accompanying Brass Kang Chun Meng and with a special dance performance by Reitoku Nihonbuyo from the Singapore Japanese Dance Group.


Spring” from four seasons –  Antonio Vivaldi
Violin and piano with a poem read – Christian 

“Frühlingsglaube” (Spring’s faith) – Franz Schubert 
Euphonium and piano

‘Un bel di Vedremo” ( One fine day, we will see) From Madam Butterfly – Giacomo Puccini 4’25min
Violin and piano with photos from Steven Ng

 Sakura-Sakura A fantasy for piano –  Kozaburo Hirai
Piano with Dancers from Reitoku Nihonbuyo

Haru no Umi( Ocean’s spring) by Michio Miyagi   
Violin and piano with a Dance from Reitoku Nihonbuyo

Spring Suite” by Yukiko Isomura ( Movement 2 and 3)
Violin and Euphonium and Piano

Nightingale Serenade –  Enrich Toselli  
Euphonium and Piano

“Flower clock”- Jean Francaix 8’25min
Violin and Piano with photos from Steven Ng

The green hills” – Bert Appermount  
Euphonium and piano

Primavera Portena” from four season of Buenos Aires –  Astor Piazzolla  
Violin and Euphonium and piano


info@steinway-gallery.com.sg by 17th May 2019 



Ikuko Takahashi was born in Japan, started playing the violin the age of 6. She made her debut as a soloist the age of 12 years old with the Bunkyo Conservatory in Tokyo and solo recital the age of 13 years old.

Ikuko continued to study music at  Interlochen Arts Academy and Peabody Institute of Johns Hopkins University in the USA with the scholarships and received Mayer’s awards as a solo violinist and prizes from the chamber music competition and the violin competition in the USA.

After she graduated from Bachelor, Master and Performance Diploma from  Peabody Institute of Johns Hopkins University, she worked with Bergen Philharmonic and Oslo Philharmonic in Norway, Gavle symphony orchestra in Sweden,Copenhagen Philharmonic and Danish Radio symphony orchestra in Denmark, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic in England, RTE national orchestra, Irish Chamber orchestra in Ireland, National Symphony, Alabama Symphony in USA. 

She also worked with many great conductors at the Verbier Music Festival in Switzerland and currently at the Grand Teton Music Festival during the summer.

Currently, she is working with the Malaysia Philharmonic and also performs chamber music concerts in USA, Europe and in Asia. 


About Aya Sakou 

A graduate of the Toho Gakuen School of Music and the Musik Hochshule Winterthur-Zurich where she obtained diplomas in teaching and performance, Aya Sakou is a regular accompanist at the Nanyang Academy of Fine Arts as well as many festivals and master classes. She often performs with the Singapore Symphony Orchestra as a chamber and orchestra musician and has an active career in Japan as an accompanist.

As a soloist, she won first prizes in competitions such as the Pitina Young Pianist Competition, the South Japan Piano Competition and the National Music Competition of Japan. She has given many recitals in Europe and Japan and has been invited to perform concertos with the Fontinu chamber orchestra and the Swiss chamber orchestra. In 2004-2005, two of her recitals were broadcasted by the BBC radio.



About Chun Meng 

Born in 1996, Kang Chun Meng has been hailed as one of the most exciting young brass soloists in Singapore. Currently, he serves as the Principal Euphonium with the Singapore Armed Forces(SAF) Central Band and the Lion City Brass Band.

A graduate of the Nanyang Academy of Fine Arts (NAFA), Chun Meng first began learning the euphonium at the age of nine under the guidance of Singaporean euphonium player, Ng Kok Hin, before moving on to British euphonium soloist Mark Glover from 2013 to 2016. He had also been tutored by renowned soloists such as Shoichiro Hokazono, Adam Frey and Steven Mead.

As a soloist, he has performed with several ensembles including the Singapore Sounds Orchestra, Singapore Wind Symphony, Philharmonic Winds and Philharmonic Youth Winds. In 2017, he made his debut with the Singapore Symphony Orchestra, with a local premiere of Philip Wilby’s Euphonium Concerto, being the first brass soloist in history to be featured in the Orchestra’s annual President’s Young Performer Concert.

With his undying passion for music, Chun Meng always aim to push the limits of his instrument and aspires to become a world class virtuoso, concurrently bringing the euphonium into its deserved recognition locally and abroad.

Chun Meng is currently a Besson artist in Singapore, and performs on a Besson Prestige BE2052 Euphonium

Special Performance 

Ms. Chan An-Yi Melissa,  Ms. Chen Xi, Mr. Naya Reitoku from Reitoku Kai Japanese Dance Group



Required fields are indicated by an asterisk.

Contact Us